AMS Fellows Celebration

Event Date: 

Thursday, February 7, 2013 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm

Event Location: 

  • 6623 South Hall - Tea Room
  • UCSB Santa Barbara
  • CA 93105-3080

Event Contact: 

Mike Best
Phone: 805 893-2955

The UCSB Mathematics Department is honored to have 10 of our distinguished faculty selected to the inaugural class of American Mathematics Society Fellows.

We will be honoring Professors Stephen Bigelow, Andrew Bruckner, Michael Crandall, Daryl Cooper, Birge Huisgen-Zimmerman, Kenneth Goodearl, William Jacob, Kenneth Millett, David R. Morrison, and Gustavo Ponce on Thursday February 7, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. in South Hall room 6623 on the UCSB Campus for a casual reception followed by a public lecture by UCSB Mathematics Professor and AMS Fellow Daryl Cooper entitled “The Beauty of Mathematics”.

RSVP to by January 25, 2013.


AMS Fellows Awards

2012 marks the inaugural year of the American Mathematical Society fellows program since the AMS founding in 1888. Approximately 4% of the AMS membership was selected to the inaugural class including 8 current UCSB Professors and 2 Emeritus Professors.  


“The Beauty of Mathematics” by Professor Daryl Cooper

 In 1610 Galileo said “The language of nature is mathematics.” By this he meant the world, and indeed the universe we live in, can only be understood with the aid of mathematics. Just as one can appreciate music without being able to read a note of it, and a painting without being able to hold a brush, so one can appreciate the beauty of mathematics without the formulae. This talk will present some examples.