Faculty by Field

RESEARCH FIELDS
Algebra
Analysis
Applied Math
Geometry
Number Theory
PDE
Topology

Faculty Awards and Honors

Department Chair and Vice Chairs

Name Role South Hall Ph:(805) 893-
Darren Long
chair@math.ucsb.edu
Chair RM. 6607
8340
Hector Ceniceros
hdc@math.ucsb.edu
Graduate Vice Chair RM. 6710
3462
Mihai Putinar
mputinar@math.ucsb.edu
Undergraduate Vice Chair RM. 6722
Email Only

Ladder Faculty by Name

Name Specialty South Hall Ph:(805) 893-
Adebisi Agboola
agboola@math.ucsb.edu
Number Theory RM. 6724
3844
Charles A. Akemann
akemann@math.ucsb.edu
Functional Analysis RM. 6706
805 518-9555
Paul Atzberger
atzberg@math.ucsb.edu
Applied Mathematics RM. 6712
3239
Padraic (Paddy) Bartlett
padraic@math.ucsb.edu
Combinatorics, Graph Theory RM. 6516
Stephen Bigelow
bigelow@math.ucsb.edu
Low-dimensional Topology RM. 6514
Email Only
Bjorn Birnir
birnir@math.ucsb.edu
Non-linear PDE's RM. 6513
4866
Maria Isabel Bueno Cachadina
mbueno@math.ucsb.edu
Numerical linear algebra RM. 6717
Email Only
Hector Ceniceros
hdc@math.ucsb.edu
Applied Mathematics RM. 6710
3462
Daryl Cooper
cooper@math.ucsb.edu
Topology, Group Theory RM. 6704
Email Only
Xianzhe Dai
dai@math.ucsb.edu
Geometric Analysis RM. 6511
Email Only
Michael Freedman
mfreedman@math.ucsb.edu
Topology and Quantum Computation RM. 6713
Email Only
Carlos J. Garcia-Cervera
cgarcia@math.ucsb.edu
Nonlinear PDE's, Material Science, and Computational Physics RM. 6707
3681
Kenneth Goodearl
goodearl@math.ucsb.edu
Algebra, Functional Analysis RM. 6520
3496
Birge Huisgen-Zimmermann
birge@math.ucsb.edu
Representation Theory of Algebras RM. 6518
3714
Bill Jacob
jacob@math.ucsb.edu
Quadratic Forms, Division Algebra RM. 6719
8048
Denis Labutin
labutin@math.ucsb.edu
Partial Differential Equations RM. 6715
3066
Darren Long (Chair)
long@math.ucsb.edu
Low-Dimensional Topology RM. 6519
Email Only
Jon McCammond
Jon.McCammond@math.ucsb.edu
Geometric Group Theory RM. 6711
Email Only
Kenneth Millett
millett@math.ucsb.edu
Algebraic and Geometric Toplogy RM. 6512
Email Only
Doug Moore
moore@math.ucsb.edu
Differential Geometry RM. 6714
3688
David Morrison
drm@math.ucsb.edu
Algebraic Geometry, String Theory RM. 6708
8309
Christopher Ograin
ograin@math.ucsb.edu
Applied Math, Math Education RM. 6517
5912
Gustavo Ponce
ponce@math.ucsb.edu
Non-linear PDE's RM. 6505
8365
Mihai Putinar
mputinar@math.ucsb.edu
Complex Analysis, Operator Theory RM. 6722
Email Only
Thomas Sideris
sideris@math.ucsb.edu
PDE's, Non-linear Wave Equations RM. 6506
2179
Jeffrey Stopple
stopple@math.ucsb.edu
Number Theory RM. 6716
Email Only
Guofang Wei
wei@math.ucsb.edu
Differential Geometry RM. 6503
Email Only
Xu Yang
xuyang@math.ucsb.edu
Applied & Computational Mathematics RM. 6709
Email Only
Zhenghan Wang
zhenghwa@math.ucsb.edu
Topology, Quantum Computation RM. 6713
Email Only
Adil Yaqub
yaqub@math.ucsb.edu
Ring Theory, Universal Algebras RM. 6720
3365
Rugang Ye
yer@math.ucsb.edu
Differential Geometry RM. 6509
8034
Yitang Zhang (Tom)
yitang.zhang@math.ucsb.edu
Analytic Number Theory RM. 6721
8034


Visiting Faculty & Lecturers by Name

Name Specialty South Hall Email Only
Samuel Ballas
sballas@math.ucsb.edu
Projective Geometry RM. 6702
Karel Casteels
casteels@math.ucsb.edu
Algebra RM. 6516
Lihui Chai
chailh@math.ucsb.edu
PDE, Kinetic Theory RM. 6502
Kyle Chapman
klchapman@math.ucsb.edu
Knot Theory Rm. 6510
Tiancong (Tim) Chen
tchen6@math.ucsb.edu
PDEs RM. 6723
Andrew Cotton-Clay
cottonclay@math.ucsb.edu
Symplectic Geometry Floer Theory RM. 6501
Ellie Grano
ellie@math.ucsb.edu
Topology Knot Theory RM. 6522
Hailong Guo
hlguo@math.ucsb.edu
Numerical Analysis Scientific Computing RM. 6515
Cristian Martinez
martinez@math.ucsb.edu
Algebraic Geometry RM. 6515
Eleni Panagiotou
panagiotou@math.ucsb.edu
Knot Theory Applications RM. 6523
Stepan Paul
spaul@math.ucsb.edu
Algebraic Geometry Commutative Algebra RM. 6504
Catherine Eva Pfaff
cpfaff@math.ucsb.edu
Geometric Group Theory RM. 6522
Shoo Seto
shoseto@math.ucsb.edu
Geometry RM. 6705
James Tener
jtener@math.ucsb.edu
Mathematical Physics RM. 6524


Postdoctoral Fellows by Name

Name Location
Lihui Chai
chailh@math.ucsb.edu
Katy C. Craig
kcraig@math.ucsb.edu


Affiliated Faculty by Name

Name Specialty Location Phone:
Jean-Pierre Fouque
 fouque@pstat.ucsb.edu
South Hall, Rm. 5504
893-5637
Frederick Gibou
 fgibou@engineering.ucsb.edu
ENGR II, Rm. 2334
893-7152
Igor Mezic
 mezic@engineering.ucsb.edu
ENGR II, Rm. 2339
893-7603
Jeff Moehlis
 moehlis@engineering.ucsb.edu
ENGR II, Rm. 2350
893-7513
Linda Petzold
 petzold@engineering.ucsb.edu
PHELPS, Rm. 3217
893-5362


Adjunct Faculty by Name

Name Specialty Location Phone: